Posted in Other

Liebster Award – Supporting New Bloggers on the Block

LiebsterI received the nomination for the Liebster Award from Linda @ Today She Loves. Thank you for the nomination, Linda. As a new blogger on the scene, your visits and comments to my blog have been such words of encouragement for me to keep writing.Linda is a blogger from Houston, Texas, and lately she has been writing about these new flavours of macarons that look so decadent. Check her blog out here.

I had to do some research on the Liebster Award, but thanks to Linda, she did a very resourceful summary of what it is. So instead of re-creating the wheel, I have posted below what Linda so helpfully summarized for us. This is the link to her post with the information below.

What is the Liebster Award?

It is an award given to new bloggers, by other bloggers. It is a way to build the blogging community and share our support with one another.

What are the rules?

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
  3. Answer the questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.
  4. Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.

Unfortunately, most of the blogs I follow seem to have more than 200 followers, and so I will nominate the new blogs that I would like to recommend and promote to others.

Here are my answers to Linda’s questions

1- What is your background and what made you interested in what you blog about now?

I am Chinese and grew up in a traditional Chinese household. The reason that I started this blog is because I love to write and chronicle my thoughts and daily experiences. I love traditional Chinese cooking, so this blog is also my little kitchen notebook of what I learn along the way as I re-create the cuisine of my ethnic background. You could read more about me on my About page.

2- What is your favorite type of dessert and do you have a recipe for it?

My favourite type of dessert is Black Forest Cake – and yes I have a recipe for it. I love it because I adore the combination of sweetness in the chocolate with the sourness in the cherries, along with the bitterness of liqueur

3 – If you could be anywhere right now for one hour, where would you want to be?

In Paris, inside the museum of Le Petit Palais, sitting on the bench in front of the floor to ceiling bow window, looking out on to Champs Elysees, and marvel at the scenery.

4 – What do you want to improve on in your blog?

My photography. I think it has improved a lot since I started, but I think that there is always still room for improvement.

5 – What’s your favorite childhood memory?

Taking long walks in the neighbourhood after dinner with my family.

And here are my nominees:

  1. Sprinkle With Salt
  2. Little Kitchen, Big World
  3. The Pedantic Foodie
  4. One Tough Cookie
  5. Well and Full

I think 11 questions for my nominees is a bit daunting, so instead, I listed 5 questions below for them. These questions are based on what I’m interested to find out about the bloggers that I follow, and their experiences in blogging. I would like to learn more about them and their blogs.

Here are my questions for my nominees:

  1. Why did you start your blog, and how long have you blogged for?
  2. How did you come up with your blog’s name, and what is the reason behind it?
  3. What is your favourite recipe, and why?
  4. What is the most daring thing you’ve tried in your life?
  5. What is the best moment that you’ve had in blogging so far?

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Supporting New Bloggers on the Block

  1. Hi Yuen, I hope you share that black forest cake recipe. 😛

    I used to take long walks with my family after dinner too. Something about digesting your food and not sitting down after eating a meal?

    I’m visiting Europe in a few days, but Paris won’t be one of my destinations. Your description of the museum makes me think otherwise.

    Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

